Our Governors

​The Function of the Governing Body

The governing body is an essential part of the management of the school, bringing with it, as it does, a wide range of experience and interests from the world of work and the community. It is well supported by Dorset Governor Services, who provide information, guidance and regular training opportunities.

The Role of the Governing Body

The Board of Governors is responsible to parents and the community, served by the school. The school is managed by the Head teacher and senior leadership team, with the governing body acting as a critical friend, in helping to maintain and improve the standard of education provided by the school. This broadly concerns issues such as curriculum matters, finance and the use of buildings and facilities.

A particularly enjoyable role of the Governing Body is to make presentations at Founders' Day.  An afternoon of celebration of the achievements of our younger year groups in the name of the Founders of Gillingham School.  Click on the link below to see a list of all the various award winners this year.

Founders' Day Programme 2019

The Governors also play an active role in presenting shields, trophies and prizes at our Annual Speech Day Awards. Speech Day is an afternoon of celebration for the achievements of our Upper School students and also, former students. Click below to see the list of all the award winners of the 2016-2017 academic year.

Speech Day Programme 2019

Governors have no individual authority so if you would like to contact the Board of Governors, please do so via the School.

The Work of the Board in 2018/19

Board work schedule for 2020-21

Members of the Governing Body 

Mr Patrick Andrews, Parent Governor

Mrs Maggie Ayre, Parent Governor

Mr Neil Demmar, Co-opted Governor

Mr Clive Drake, Foundation Governor

Mr Richard Harvey, Associate Governor, Vice Chairman of Governing Body

Mrs Su Hunt, Co-opted Governor

Mr Andrew Jenkins, Foundation Governor

Mr Mat Lake, Co-opted Governor

Mr Guy Lowton, Chairman of Governing Body

Mr Paul Nicholson, Headteacher

Mrs Jane Rees, Co-opted Governor

Mr Tim Sharp, Co-opted Governor

Ms Emma Vallender, Staff Governor

Mrs Charlotte Willis-Clark, Co-opted Governor

Clerk to Governors: Mrs Pam Henderson

Composition of the Governing Body

Governors List and Attendance October 2020

Governing Body Awards


George H Butler was a former scholar of Gillingham School but as a local farmer he continued his association, particularly with the running of the old school farm in the 1960s and 1970s.  After his death in 1999, his Will left part of his estate to establish a fund, the income from which would be used to give financial assistance to needy former pupils to continue with further/higher education.  Trustees of The George Butler Scholarship Fund invite applications from current or former pupils of Gillingham School who wish to attend university, college or similar educational establishments in the academic year 2020–21.  The Trustees are indebted to George Butler for providing this assistance for pupils to meet the considerable costs and fees now involved in continuing studies.

George Butler Scholarship Fund


Yvonne Fletcher was a pupil at Gillingham School in the 1970s.  When she left school, she joined the Metropolitan Police Force in London.  In 1984 she was shot while on duty outside the Libyan Embassy.  The impact of this has effected international relations with Libya ever since and to this date has yet to be resolved.  Mr and Mrs Fletcher began the Fletcher Enterprise Award in 1985 in the memory of their daughter.  The award is a sum of money which will help to fund any project whether it for further education or for a hobby.

How to Apply - Fletcher Award